EASA Awards and Medals

EASA awards medals in 4 different categories namely: Medal of Honour, Research Medal, Emerging Research Medal and Post Graduate Medal. These medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding service to education by an individual.

A candidate may be nominated by an institution, the Executive Committee, or any individual member of EASA for consideration by the Executive Committee of EASA. A nomination must be accompanied by a comprehensive curriculum vitae and an extensive motivation to indicate that a person meets the criteria. The award will be awarded at a ceremony of the EASA annual conference.


2021 Awards

Postgraduate Medal (Master’s Degree)
The Master’s award is shared by Ms Erika Potgieter and Mr Tswakae Sebotsa

Postgraduate Medal (Doctoral Degree)
Awarded to Dr Sameera Ayob

Research Medal
Awarded to Prof Christo van der Westhuizen

Medal of Honour

2020 Awards

Dr Quixi Sonntag

Dr Nicolaas Blom

Research Medal 2020
Prof Elsa Mentz

Medal of Honour 2020
Prof Josef de Beer

2018 Awards

Post Graduate Doctoral
Dr Eugene Machiman

Emerging Researcher
Prof Jako Olivier

Research Medal
Prof Liesl Ebersohn

Call for Awards and Medals

EASA Medal of Honour ( PDF )

EASA Emerging Researcher ( PDF )

EASA Post Graduate Medal Doctoral ( PDF )

EASA Post Graduate Medal Masters ( PDF )